Institute for Logic, Language and Computation

News and Events:

These pages provide information about recent developments at or relevant to the ILLC (last update: 26 February 2015). Please let us know if you have material that you would like to be added to the news pages, by using the online submission form. For minor updates to existing entries you can also email the news administrators directly. English submissions strongly preferred.

Items which are new or have been updated within the last week are marked "(New)" or "(Updated)".

Headlines Miscellaneous


  • Theme issue on musicality appears with Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society

    Why do we have music? And what enables us to perceive, appreciate and make music? The search for a possible answer to these and other questions forms the backdrop to a soon-to-be released theme issue of Philosophical Transactions, which deals with the subject of musicality. An initiative of Henkjan Honing, professor of Music Cognition at the University of Amsterdam (UvA), this theme issue will see Honing and fellow researchers present their most important empirical results and offer a joint research agenda with which to identify the biological and cognitive basis of musicality.

    For more information, see

  • Harry Buhrman gives serie of online lectures on quantum computers at UvNL

    (Dutch only)
    Elke werkdag zet de Universiteit van Nederland we een nieuw, gratis college online. Afgelopen week was het de beurt aan prof. dr. Harry Buhrman van Universiteit van Amsterdam die college gaf over Kwantumcomputers.

    Het eerste college is getiteld "Waarom is een computer soms zo traag?":
    "Computers kunnen alles. ERROR! Niet dus. Prof. dr. Harry Buhrman, computerwetenschapper aan de Universiteit van Amsterdam en onderzoeker aan het Centrum van Wiskunde & Informatica, legt uit dat er nog steeds fundamentele wiskundige problemen zijn waar onze huidige computers nog niet tegen kunnen opboksen."

    Voor meer informatie, zie

  • The TeX Users Group requests your help!

    For more than three decades since its creation by Donald Knuth, the TeX software family has been creating beautiful texts. The software continues to assist many people, from a school student typesetting her homework to a large corporation churning out complex multilingual documents.

    Since 1980, the TeX Users Group has been a steward of TeX development, advocacy and education. TUG is a not-for-profit organization by, for, and of its members. It works in close cooperation with the developers of modern TeX distributions, maintainers of the Comprehensive TeX Archive Network (CTAN), authors of TeX-related software, etc. We organize conferences, publish our flagship journal TUGboat and occasional books, provide development resources and coordinate efforts, maintain the website and perform many other tasks, large and small.

    This work is done by TUG members working as volunteers, with the necessary financial support coming almost entirely from membership dues and generous donations. TUG membership is an important way to care for the future stability and success of TeX. Many individuals and organizations using TeX might be interested in joining, but simply do not know about us.

    For more information, see

  • Heb je uitzonderlijk muzikaal gehoor? Doe de test!

    Ben jij een beetje muzikaal? Kun jij een liedje op de perfecte toonhoogte meezingen? Hoor jij meteen of er een valse snaar op een gitaar zit? Sommigen mensen zijn volledig toondoof. Maar mensen met absoluut gehoor kunnen (zonder te kijken!) aan een pianotoets al horen welke noot het is. Een heel zeldzame gave! Maar is deze luistereigenschap wel zo bijzonder? Hoogleraar Muziekcognitie prof. dr. Henkjan Honing (UvA) legt je uit wat nog veel opmerkelijker is aan gehoor.

    For more information, see

        Back to top of page