Universiteit van Amsterdam

News and Events: Funding, Grants and Competitions

These pages provide information about recent developments at or relevant to the ILLC. Please let us know if you have material that you would like to be added to the news pages, by using the online submission form. For minor updates to existing entries you can also email the news administrators directly. English submissions strongly preferred.

Headlines Funding, Grants & Competitions

Funding, Grants & Competitions

  • High Performance Computing and Networking grant

    Deadline: Thursday 31 May 2018

    High Performance Computing and Networking (HPCN) facilities are ICT infrastructure components designed to facilitate research and education and raise them to a higher level. The Faculty of Science administers a HPCN Fund designed to provide the UvA with HPCN facilities and the research community with broad access to relevant expertise.

    The aim of the fund is to make a positive contribution to the UvA's e-Science infrastructure and to make it available to as many members of the university's academic staff as possible. Another objective is to increase the incoming volume of revenue for e-Science research from indirect government and contract research funding. You are invited to submit proposals based on the call outlined below.

  • UvA FGw Cutting Edge Research Fund (extended deadline)

    Deadline: Saturday 30 June 2018

    The UvA Faculty of Humanities offers the funding scheme 'Cutting Edge Research Fund' that fosters international collaboration aimed at innovative, cutting edge research. The Fund was made available by the Sustainable Humanities Programme (Duurzame Geesteswetenschappen). The fund is intended to support research staff in initiating or further developing international networking activities, with the aim of increasing research collaborations with foreign partners that can lead to International funding by a consortium.

    The deadline for submitting applications for the UvA FGw Cutting Edge Research Fund has been extended. Applications are invited for two types of grants: 1. Network Grants and 2. Research Fellowships.  Applications can be submitted continuously until no later than 30 June 2018.

  • New funding instrument of the NWO Domain Social Sciences and Humanities (SSH)


    During the course of 2018, NWO will implement a simplified set of funding instruments in all domains. From 1 August 2018 onwards, researchers will be able to submit proposals for the first calls that have been published according to this new model. Within the open competition there will be a single domain-wide instrument for curiosity-driven fundamental research: open competition aimed at large and small projects. With this new system, the NWO executive board intends to create greater clarity in the research funding.

    The text for the call for proposals and the application form for this new funding instrument will become available during the course of 2018 via the NWO website.

  • Support tracks for individual grants

    The Grant Team of the Faculty of Humanities offers special support tracks for individual grants (in particular Rubicon, Marie Skłodowska-Curie, Veni-Vidi-Vici and ERC grants). These support tracks consist of several plenary meetings with the candidates. You review the proposals of your fellow candidates, get feedback from fellows outside your own discipline and get advice from laureates or (former) evaluation committee members during workshops. You also receive feedback on your proposal from the grant and budget advisors within our team (please see the 'contact' page for more information on who should be contacted).

  • Horizon 2020 calls with a deadline in 2018

    Deadline: Monday 31 December 2018

    Horizon 2020 is the principal research and innovation programme from the European Commission. It succeeded the 7th framework programme and will run from 2014 until 2020.

    Calls with a deadline in 2018 currently include

    • Euratom

    • Excellent Science

    • Industrial Leadership

    • Science with and for Society

    • Societal Challenges

    • Spreading Excellence and Widening Participation

  • Van Gogh Programme

    Deadline: Friday 15 June 2018

    The Van Gogh Programme promotes exchanges between researchers within specific research projects and annually supports around 40 researchers from France and about the same number of researchers from the Netherlands. The programme supports research projects focused on developing science. Often, these projects involve (fundamental) research within a specific field of expertise. This involves the research teams using each other's research facilities, unique collections and archives and specific research methods.

  • NWO starts programme round for Dutch National Research Agenda

    On 9 March 2018, the Minister for Education, Culture and Science announced in a Letter to Parliament that NWO would start the programme round for the Dutch National Research Agenda before the end of this year. In 2018, an extra 70 million euros will be made available for this, which will increase to 108 million euros in 2019 and 130 million euros from 2020. This is great news for science, but what exactly does it mean?

  • NWO to invest 550 million euros in research in the top sectors

    NWO will contribute 550 million euros to the 2018-2019 Knowledge and Innovation Contract. With this contract, government, industry and knowledge institutes are underscoring the top sectors’ ambitions to strengthen the Dutch knowledge and innovation system. The contract represents a total investment of 4.7 billion euros. NWO’s contribution is designated for high-quality scientific research.

  • 21 June 2018, Workshop ERC Starting and Consolidator Grant

    Date: Thursday 21 June 2018

    Researchers who are planning to write an application for an ERC Starting or Consolidator grant can benefit from the grant workshop that is organised by the Netherlands Enterprise Agency. This one-day workshop is given entirely in English and takes place in the centre of Utrecht. There are 3 dates in 2018: 21 June, 30 August 2018 and 15 November 2018.

  • 28 June 2018, Talent Scheme Information Meeting (Veni, Vidi, Vici)

    Date: Thursday 28 June 2018
    Location: NWO, Laan van Nieuw Oost-Indië 300, 2593 CE The Hague, The Netherlands

    NWO organises information meetings for researchers who want to apply for a Veni, Vidi of Vici grant. Practical information is given and selection committee members, NWO secretaries and researchers who have already acquired a Veni, Vidi or Vici share their experiences during a question and answer session. The next meeting will be held on 28 June 2018. Registration is now open!

The websites of the UvA make use of cookiesThis site uses cookies More informationMore info Hide this message XHide X