News and Events: Conferences

Please note that this newsitem has been archived, and may contain outdated information or links.

17-19 November 2010, Second Paris-Nancy PhilMath Workshop (P-NPMW 2), Paris, France

Date: November 17-19, 2010
Location: Paris, France
Deadline: 31 August 2010

This is the second in an annual series of workshops on the philosophy of mathematics organized by a team of scholars from Paris, Nancy and elsewhere in France. The three-day meeting will feature both invited and contributed talks.

The invited speakers, who have confirmed their participation, are:

  • Patricia Blanchette (Notre Dame University)
  • Jacques Bouveresse (Collège de France, Paris)
  • John Burgess (Princeton University)
  • Gabrielle Crocco (University of Provence, Aix-Marseille)
  • Gilles Dowek (Ecole Polytechnique, Paris)
  • Ignasi Jané (University of Barcelona)

Programme and schedule

Wednesday, November 17 [ENS, 45 rue d=92Ulm, salle Dussane]
10h00-11h15Gilles Dowek, What is a theory ?
11h30-12h45Francesca Poggiolesi, On the importance of being analytic. The paradigmatic case of the logic of proofs
14h15-15h30John Burgess, Structure and rigor
15h45-17h00Francesca Boccuni, Plural logicism approaches to philosophy of mathematics
Thursday, November 18 [ENS, 45 rue d=92Ulm, salle Dussane]
9h00-10h15Gabriella Crocco, G=F6del and the problem of descriptive phrases
10h30-11h45Mirja Hartimo, Husserl and contemporary trends in philosophy of mathematics
12h00-13h15Osvaldo Ottaviani, "Forma dat esse rei". Transcendental approaches to philosophy of mathematics
14h15-15h45Patricia Blanchette, Metatheory in Frege
16h00-17h00Simon Hewitt, Faulting and Fixing Frege
Friday, November 19 [Paris 7 Rive Gauche, salle Klimt]
9h00-10h15Jacques Bouveresse, TBC
10h30-11h45Davide Rizza, Applied Mathematics without mappings
12h00-13h15Ignasi Jan=E9, An attempt at a faithful interpretation of set theory

Steering Committee

M. van Atten, D. Bonnay, G. Crocco, J. Dubucs, S. Gandon, G. Heinzmann, P. Mancosu, S. Shapiro, I. Smadja.

Program Committee

A. Arana, M. Detlefsen, B. Halimi, P. Nabonnand, M. Panza, J.-J. Szczeciniarz, S. Walsh

Local Organizing Committee

M. Panza, P. Cardon, M. Detlefsen, A. Rodin, J.-J. Szczeciniarz.


Call for papers: June 10st
Deadline for submission of papers: August 31st
Notification of acceptance: September 30st


Chaire d’excellence ANR (senior) Michael Detlefsen (

Please note that this newsitem has been archived, and may contain outdated information or links.